Skip to Page Content

State Council Awards

    What Are the State Council Awards?

    Every year the NCSHRM State Council presents various awards and scholarships honoring the highest achievements for advancing the Human Resource profession. These awards and scholarships are presented in conjunction with the NCSHRM State Conference and open to any North Carolina SHRM-affiliated Chapter and its members. Below is a summary of the awards and scholarships.

    2015 Award Winners

    Past Award Winners


    Click on a title for more information as well as learning how to apply.

    Chapter Crown Awards

    (sponsored by Challenger, Gray & Christmas, Inc)

    The Crown Award honors the highest achievements in state chapter development and contributions that Advance the Profession and Serve the Professional. Chapters enter the competition by submitting an innovative project created and implemented by the chapter during the award period (January-December ), and special consideration is given to successful programs that are readily transferable to other chapters. Deadline for submission is July 15th.

    Richard "Dick" Peoples Professional of the Year Award

    (sponsored by Ogletree Deakins Law Firm)

    The Richard "Dick" Peoples Professional of the Year Award is given in recognition of an individual’s service to the HR community, service to the HR profession, leadership in the business community, and service to the civic community during the award period (January  – December). Deadline for submission is August 5.

    North Carolina Human Resources Professional HALL OF FAME

    (Sponsored by Constangy, Brooks & Smith, LLP)

    The North Carolina Human Resources Hall of Fame recognizes North Carolina Human Resources Professionals for their outstanding lifetime accomplishments and/or contributions to the HR community. This award is given in recognition of their service to the HR profession, leadership in the business community, and service to the civic community. Each year, up to 5 individuals will be inducted into the Hall of Fame based on nominations submitted. Deadline for submission is August 5

    Certification Assistance Scholarship and Recertification Assistance Scholarship

    The State Council provides a Certification Assistance Scholarship and a Recertification Assistance Scholarship. One certification and one recertification scholarship will be awarded for each test period. Deadline for submission: within 30 days of receipt of designation.

    Distinguished Professional Chapter(s) of the Year Award

    The State Council recognizes North Carolina SHRM-affiliated chapters that have achieved excellence in the SHRM SHAPE through its Distinguished Professional Chapter of the Year Award. The State Council recognizes all Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Award winners as distinguished Professional Chapters provided they also adhere to the a few additional expectations.

    Distinguished Student Chapter(s) of the Year Award

    The NCSHRM State Council also supports SHRM goals and objectives for Student Chapters and Student Chapter Members. SHRM outlines a plan of action for success through the annual Merit Award program that recognizes student chapters for outstanding activities and programs. To further support and recognize those student chapters that meet the Merit Award criteria outlined by the Society, the State Council recognizes those Distinguished Student Chapters annually.

    Jan Sharp Memorial Scholarship

    (endowed by Capitol Broadcasting Company)

    The Jan Sharp Memorial Scholarship is a $1,000 scholarship awarded annually to a North Carolina student focusing on Human Resources as a profession. Deadline for submission is September 4th.

    William B. Leonard Student Chapter Member Scholarship

    William B. Leonard Student Chapter Member Scholarships are awarded to 2 students ($500 each). Scholarships are based upon the student’s contributions to their student chapter, and academic performance, along with involvement in community or school activities, and commitment to the Human Resources Profession. Deadline for submission is September 4th.

    Elizabeth Clay Smith Humanitarian Award


    The Elizabeth ‘Clay’ Smith Humanitarian Award honors a human resources professional who promotes well-being, respect and dignity within their community, while striving to make a lasting difference and to encourage others to do the same.  In so doing, this professional exemplifies compassion, courage and professionalism in the practice of human resources as well as in their personal lives.


    To nominate an individual for consideration of this prestigious award, please complete the nomination form and attach a professional resume that provides information about the nominee that would support the primary criteria for the award.  Deadline for submissions is August 1, 2014.

    For more information about any State Council Award...

    More detailed information including how to apply can be found on the NC State Council website under the State Council Awards tab. All nominations will need to be submitted via email to:

    Awards Chair contact information is listed in the State Council Directory on the About Us page if you need immediate assistance.


    For more information on National SHRM Foundation Scholarship and Awards click here.


    Thanks to our 2014 State Council Award sponsors.

    Capital Broadcasting Company

    Challenger, Gray & Christmas, Inc.

    Constangy, Brooks & Smith, LLP

    Ogletree Deakins








    For more information about any of these awards submissions, please contact the State Council Awards & Recognition Chair